Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour

Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour

Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour locationSouthampton, Hampshire

(15 Reviews)

Maher & Hound specialises in one to one training sessions and behavioural consultations for puppies, dogs and rescue dogs in Hampshire and Wiltshire. Please visit my website, Facebook or Instagram @maherandhounddogtraining for PRICES.

My training and behaviour work is based on breed specific behaviour – using compassionate, science based, force-free methods. One to one training provides a less distracting environment for you and your dog. My attention is totally on you and your dog’s needs and each training session is focused on achieving the results that you would like.

As well as training, I have a particular interest in Canine Behaviour and I can help with many different issues and create bespoke behaviour modification programmes for issues such as Separation Anxiety, Dog to Dog Aggression or Fear of other dogs, On lead Reactivity, Resource Guarding, Jumping Up, Recall problems, House training, Excessive Barking, Pulling on the Lead (for more info please see my website).

I also offer telephone / Skype consultations for general puppy, dog and rescue dog advice & certain areas of behavioural advice - for clients who live out of my area - and general diet advice.

I am accredited as a Dog Trainer with the Guild of Dog Trainers and I am a member of PPG. (The Pet Professional Guild, an organisation for professionals who are committed to results based, science based, force free training).

I carry full Public Liability insurance and Professional Indemnity insurance - full details available upon request.

  • 3 hires on Bark.com
Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour Reviews

Reviews


Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Helen T
5 21/03/2019 Helen T

I would highly recommend Karen and the wonderful work she does with dogs. She is very knowledgeable, a great communicator and she has such a good rapport with all breeds, backgrounds and ages of dogs. Her work with rescue dogs is particularly impressive and shows what a brilliant dog behaviourist and trainer she is.

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Amy
5 21/03/2019 Amy

Karen is a true professional and worked magic with our puppy! I can’t rate her enough

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Wendy B
5 21/03/2019 Wendy B

Absolutely brilliant with rescue dogs. Highly recommended

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Eve M
5 21/03/2019 Eve M

Karen is so in tune with dogs, especially rescues, and I would definitely recommend her to anyone looking for support or advice with behavioural issues. She’s a natural with animals, always keen to help, and very easy to get along with, which of course makes the experience better for both the dog and the owner in question. Highly recommended!

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Shirley Harrison
5 13/02/2019 Shirley Harrison

I had a very useful consultation with Karen for my german shepherd cross collie behaviour issues, and have seen improvement after changing her diet and other suggestions made. Highly recommended.

Used this pro
Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Julia Howard
5 31/01/2019 Julia Howard

Really helped us understand our dog’s behaviour & offer practical solutions. Highly recommended x

Used this pro
Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Jacquelina
5 10/12/2018 Jacquelina

What I love about Maher and Hound dog Training is that Karen does this job from the heart and sole and her love of animals, it's not just a job for her but a calling. Karen has adopted and fostered abandoned and rescued dogs from Cyprus, poor dogs which have been neglected and abused and with Karen's love, training and dedication these pups have opened up in confidence and affection. Karen has done wonders with Melvin one of my foster pups from Cyprus. Melvin spent his entire life in a crowded cage with larger aggressive dogs, not only did Karen end up giving Melvin a forever home but her training techniques have transformed Melvin into a confident, loving and social pup. Choosing Karen to train your precious dog will be one of the best decisions you can make, I highly recommend Karen and Maher & Hound Dog Traing

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Tracy
5 10/12/2018 Tracy

Having known Karen for over twenty year she has never been without a fur baby from the formidable Norbet to her amazing band of rescue dogs today. Her love and compassion for animals now combined with knowledge of obedience and behavioural training will put any dog owner at ease and I have no hesitation in recommending her.

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Helen
5 10/12/2018 Helen

Karen is wonderful and has such a caring and understanding relationship with dogs.
I would highly recommend her

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by James
5 10/12/2018 James

Highly rated, Karen has a clear understanding of dog behaviours and has a great diversity of techniques with regards to resolving behavioural issues with dogs. I adopted two Shepherd Cross Romanian street dogs three years ago, and with great help and advice from Karen they soon settled to become the most beautiful family companions imaginable.

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Charlie
5 10/12/2018 Charlie

Karen has helped my so much through my journey to be a dog owner; from recommending rescue charities to advice on our pup. We ended up rehoming a 6 month old Spangold who is a dream but came with a certain lack of training due to his start in life. Karen recommended me a local trainer (as sadly I am too far from her to benefit directly) who was amazing. She also offered me invaluable advice on his behaviour, things that would occupy him and other traits of his breeds that I wouldn't have known otherwise.

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Despw
5 10/12/2018 Despw

Karen is an amazing lady, she adopted Melvin from our rescue and since then have worked miracles on his behavior and training ! If you are looking for a trainer who is always there , willing to help both owner and dog,then as a rescue we recommend Karen 100% .

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Maria
5 10/12/2018 Maria

Karen’s support and advice has been invaluable. Thank you Karen. Lots of doggie love from Pixie Poodles and Big Mia.

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Roxanne
5 10/12/2018 Roxanne

I don’t think I’ve ever seen Karen Maher without a dog by her side. Ever since she was a fashion PR working in London, she had her faithful sidekick Nobby with her at all times. He was our office mascot at the Stella McCartney press office, accompanying me to Vogue with a bag full of returns and taming the maddest of bosses. His temperament and ability was all testament to his mistress Karen. Since then, I’ve seen Karen’s human and dog families grow - and the behaviour of all is still impeccable. Highly recommended!

Review of Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour by Gabriella
5 10/12/2018 Gabriella

The work Karen does is amazing. She has a natural ability with dogs and understands their behaviours making all dogs feel at home, safe and loved. Rescue dogs become socialised and fit in well with any pack💖💖💖

Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour


Click to rate:

Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour Q&A

Company Q&A

What do you love most about your job?

I’m a lifelong lover of dogs, they absolutely fascinate me, they are so intelligent, so endearing, so much fun and they are utterly life-enhancing. I have learned that dogs do live in the moment and that they therefore have an amazing ability to change completely.

Why should our clients choose you?

My training and behaviour work is based on breed specific behaviour – using compassionate, science based, force-free methods. One to one training provides a less distracting environment for you and your dog. My attention is totally on you and your dog’s needs and each training session is focused on achieving the results that you would like.
I have studied with Ross McCarthy MA FCFBA MBIPDT MGoDT AMBPSCA at The Cambridge Institute of Dog Behaviour and Training (CIDBT) - these courses are approved through Kennel Club external inspection for the KCAI Scheme.
My CIDBT Qualifications & Certificates:
• Understanding Canine Care and Behaviour
• Practical and Effective Dog Training
• Common Canine Behaviour Problems
• The Canine Behaviourist (Advanced Course)
I have also completed the 'Think Dog Certificate' with Pet Behaviour Counsellor Sarah Whitehead (BA MSc), author of the bestselling 'Clever Dog' book.
I am accredited as a Dog Trainer with the Guild of Dog Trainers

Services provided by Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour

Services

Puppy / Dog / Rescue Dog Training

I offer bespoke one to one training sessions for Puppies and Adult Dogs (including rescue dogs), based on breed specific behaviour – using compassionate, science based, force-free methods that are lots of fun. Sit Down and Instant Down Wait Stay Leave it Loose Lead Walking Recall (come immediately when called) House training (including toilet training) Crate training Socialisation and habituation Setting your puppy or new dog’s routine No jumping up, No play biting or chewing Coming when called Dog park ‘etiquette’ Settle Down & Relax - on your mat / go to bed etc Play and breed and age appropriate toys / Information on diet No jumping up Focus and Attention (Watch Me command) Dog to dog interaction No Biting & Mouthing No chewing Come When Called Fetch & Drop Let’s Go - ensures a calm meet and greet with other dogs whilst out

Puppy / Dog / Rescue Dog Behaviour Issues

I have a particular interest in Canine Behaviour and I can help with many different issues, explain the reasons why your dog is behaving this way and create and implement bespoke breed specific behaviour modification programmes for many problems such as: Separation related issues (Separation Anxiety), Dog to Dog interaction issues, Aggression or fear towards other dogs, On lead reactivity, Excessive Chewing & Biting, Jumping up, Resource guarding (food, toys, sofa, bed etc), House Training, Coprophagia, Excessive barking, Pulling on the Lead, Recall problems, Crate Training, Issues with nipping, Information on Diet, Dog park ‘etiquette’ Fear of: traffic, street walking, strangers (rescue dogs) Information on Diet and how this can effect behaviour

Projects

Rescue Dogs

Rescue dog discount 20% reduction on all fees I have 10 years experience working with and rehabilitating rescue dogs. I have worked with many breeds including Jack Russells, Labradors, Hounds, Spaniels, German Shepherds, Collies, Min Pin and many different crossbreeds. Through these dogs I have learned that dogs do live in the moment and that they therefore have an amazing ability to change completely, whatever their background. I am a member of the Wild At Heart Foundation's Canine Behaviourist network (http://www.wildatheartfoundation.org- UK charity supporting global animal care projects focusing on reducing the world's 600m stray dogs through neutering, rescue and education).

  • 3 hires on Bark.com

Find companies like this!

Whatever your requirement, Bark will help you find local companies like Maher & Hound Dog Training and Behaviour.
Just post your project to Bark and we'll find the most suitable companies for you.


Check mark

Attach photos and files
See Quotes Skip
Are you sure that you want to leave?