Hunter - Counsellor - Auckland, New Zealand

Katie Hunter

Auckland, New Zealand




I am currently in my second year studying a Health Science degree in Counselling. I have an internship at the city campus of AUT where I am counselling students at the University. I am currently studying relational therapy such as CBT, Narrative, DBT and Person centred practice. I am building up my 200 hours of therapeutic practice towards my degree and provisional registration for NZAC.

Work History

Teacher Aide

Mahurangi College

February 2007 - November 2010

working with children who have physical and mental disabilities. Working with children who have behavioural problems. Exam co-ordinator and reader/writer.

Duties: I spent a year with children of varying ages who had physical and mental disabilities. I would accompany those, who were able, to main stream classes and help them interact with their peers and, wherever possible, integrate their learning level with the class. Otherwise I would work with them one on one within the learning unit helping them with their correspondence work. I would also help with the physically disabled applying physio techniques, changing their nappies and cleaning them where necessary, engaging them in musical activities, gardening workshops and appropriate sporting activities.
For three years I worked with youth in year 11 (aged 15/16 yrs) in a Maths and English class. I helped them study and achieve their internal unit standards according to NCEA examination guidelines. This was a challenging roll as many of these teenagers were in damaging home environments and occasionally had substance issues. They were prone to hostile behaviour and had difficulty with their concentration levels. For the majority of them this was their last year at school and often the focus was to prepare them for a working environment whilst achieving basic NCEA grades for Level 1 and teaching them valuable life skills.

Various temporary assignments as a PA/Secretary

Part time whilst bringing up my children.

Duties: Reception work, computer entry and day to day account work along with taking Minutes of meetings, data entry, collecting mail and responding where appropriate, some research work and lots of client liaison. I have a typing speed of approximately 100 words per minute.

Personal Assistant

Spotlight Publications

Worked as a PA to Publisher of Video Week and Video Retailer magazines. Role included all admin and secretarial duties, taking minutes, Dictaphone, occasional reception duties, the writing and reviewing of films released to Video.

Full time temporary assignments as a Secretary

PA in Bristol and London (UK)

Qualifications & Certifications


Badminton School

Badminton School, UK


St Aldates College

Skillpages has been acquired by! is pioneering the way people find local services. Skillpages is the world’s premier directory of service providers.

Find out more

Katie Hunter provides the following services:

Supported Countries
Choose your country