Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification logo

Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification

Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification locationKenninghall, Norfolk

(28 Reviews)

Tamasine Smith BCCS.CanBhvPrac worked with horses for over twenty years and taught and studied horsemanship for around half that time. For a number of years she was also a teacher and trainer of horsemanship at her own centre, around South Africa and other countries. Often those coming to the centre would meet the resident Ridgebacks and ask if she also trained dogs – to which the answer would be “no, only horses”. However, over time, it became clear that although horses are considered prey animals and dogs predators, they actually both need the same thing when it comes to the humans in their lives – leadership and consistency given with calmness, confidence and compassion. She discovered that what she taught in horsemanship lessons: that it’s about “who we need to be more than a method of training” – also applied to dogs. This led to her taking up studies in dog behaviour and starting on a training programme for dogs. After working with a friend and colleague to create a self-development course called Inner Game (after W. Timothy Gallwey’s books) initially using horses as the teachers, it seemed that it might work just as well with dogs. It did. And so Leadchanges was born.

Tamasine continues her studies, also attending workshops and gaining inspiration from others. One such group was DogsandAll in South Africa who prepare dogs for protection work and sniffer dog work including drug and bomb detection.

Leadchanges then moved to Andalucia, Spain and in addition to the original workshops, grew to encompass Tamasine’s own work and work with rescue groups such as Lab Rescue (South Africa), Ridgeback Rescue (South Africa) and PEPA (Spain). This work involved fostering, rehoming, home checks and rehabilitation.

In Spain, Tamasine helped a number of rescue charities, including helping to set up a new group in the Alhama area where she lived. She offered a foster carer training programme and still gives ongoing support with two of the charities. She also plans to continue fund raising for them and offer them support within the UK for any of their dogs adopted here. If you are interested in adopting a dog from Spain you can contact ASAP here and AAR here.

Leadchanges is now based Kenninghall in Norfolk Tamasine alongside her behaviour work she plans to continue the type of work she has done with groups such as Lab Rescue (South Africa), Ridgeback Rescue (South Africa), PEPA, Axarquia Animal Rescue and Alhama Street Animal Protection (Spain). This work involves fostering, rehoming, home checks and rehabilitation. Tamasine’s workshops and in house rehabilitation service will continue once the facilities are set up in Kenninhall but she is still able to offer home consultations and internet support.

Tamasine in particular loves helping with dog reactive dogs, shy and fearful dogs, preparing dogs for travel, working with travel worried dogs, and with people who do not necessarily thrive in group classes. Leadchanges also offers work with puppies, helping people start their dogs off in the right way, offering longer residences and day care facilities for young dogs, which involves teaching them to crate, pool safety and swimming (summer months), basic obedience and agility along with socialisation to other humans and animals.

Tamasine is a keen traveller and has always found it necessary in the past to find house sitters for her dogs, because she has not wanted to subject her own beloved dogs to a closed and unloving regime while she was away. This has led her to offer, through Leadchanges, a different kind of kennelling, built on the concept of socialisation, walking and fun, allowing for a greater interaction with their human carers and access wherever possible (and appropriate) to her home, to be part of the family.

Tamasine has a Practitioner Diploma in Dog Behaviour, a Canine First Aid certificate and Dog Law Certificate with the British College of Canine Studies in the UK and is also an Associate member of the IACP (International Association of Canine Professionals). She has completed Level 1 and 2 in Dog Scentwork with Talking Dogs Scentwork, is working on Scent 3, is working on Dr Ian Dunbar's Growl and Puppy programmes and attends courses and lectures for her CPD.

  • 72 hires on Bark.com
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification Reviews

Bark Reviews


Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Bob, Karen and Jess
5 14/08/2017

Tamasine has a tremendous affinity with dogs and soon had our 14 week old golden eating out of her hand. As she wasn't leash trained it really was starting with the basics but by the time she left our puppy was managing to walk well tethered to me, sitting before entering another room and had started to master down! Quite outstanding really but most importantly she spent time supporting and training the humans and although not as quick to learn as our pup we did pretty well and have been able to build on what Jess learnt and with all the resources Tamasine has shared with us we are confident we will be able to continue to train our pup to become a thoughtful, kind and obedient canine ready to meet the world. Thank you Tamasine we would definitely recommend you.

Bob, Karen and Jess
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much for your lovely words. It was a joy spending time with you all and you have a complete gem in Jess. I look forward to hearing how your journey together progresses. Please keep in touch and feel free to contact me any time.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Belinda Clabburn
5 04/07/2017

Tamasine worked with us and our dog last week, and we all found the session incredibly helpful. Tamasine swiftly followed up her direct work with us with a lot of information on the programme and activities including video clips to help with our understanding and will continue to be available to us via email and telephone over the next few weeks should we need any additional support. Tamasine was very skilled and knowledgeable and although the session was intensive we also had a lot of fun. Thanks for all your help Tamasine

Belinda Clabburn
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you for your lovely reviews Belinda. I hope it's going well and more importantly that you're having fun with the exercises. I look forward to hearing your news soon!
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Belinda Clabburn
5 01/07/2017

Tamasine was fantastic, we didn't really know what to expect although her profile and experience gave us confidence that she would be able to help us. Tamasine visited us at home with our dog 'Buddy' and she has given us a programme to work with Buddy that should enable us to resolve these issues. She has a lovely style, and spent a lot of time talking to us to understand our concerns and demonstrating how to work with Buddy. Tamasine is clearly very knowledgeable and experienced but is takes a very practical approach whilst making things fun. She has followed up her visit with a lot of detailed written information, video clips etc and offers continued support by email etc for quite a period afterwards should we need it.

Belinda Clabburn
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you for your lovely words Belinda. I had such a great time with you and Buddy and you already have so many good things in place. I'm sure you will do a great job helping him take the next steps to confidence.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Charli
5 25/06/2017

100% recommend! The home visit with the training exercise helped my Lola the podenco so much. She struggles with paying attention to me and getting worked up over dogs and small furries on walks. The exercises we were given have already improved her behaviour so much, and it's only been 4 days!
I also received a hugely detailed and helpful personalised program via email with videos, links, and advice as well as a rundown of all our exercises.
Tamasine is friendly, knowledgeable, and worked so well with my often nervous Lola! Can't wait to see more of Lola's improvements as we continue to follow the program. :)

Charli
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much Charli! It was such a delight to work with you and Lola and of course I always have that special soft spot for Pods! Lola is just superb and I can't wait to hear how you progress. Well done for your dedication and commitment to her and for doing so well in a short time. That's great news and it also helps that Lola is keen to learn and bright as a spark. Love her!
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Deborah Musk
4 10/06/2017

We found Tamasine helpful, understanding and patient. Tamasine sent us lots of helpful information and even called in the following day to drop something off and gave further advice. Very useful knowing we can get in touch anytime with anything we are struggling with.

Deborah Musk
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Pamela Cummins
5 01/06/2017

Working with Tamasine was so helpful and let me understand why to do things in a certain way would be beneficial to my self and Suki my dog .
It has only been a couple of weeks but I noticed even after a couple of days how much more responsive Suki was and now she is able to be left for over an hour with free run downstairs and is settled when I come back .
Yesterday I free reined her for the first time and she played chase with the other dogs and recalled to the whistle a Great improvement .

Pamela Cummins
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Oh Pamela that is such wonderful news! Thank you for your review and update and I'm so happy to hear about Suki's improvements. Again, well done to you for showing her the way and being such a great guide for her. Continue having lots of fun with her and huge hugs to you both!
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Tricia
5 31/05/2017

Tamasine was very professional and easy to work with, she made it easily understood why we were doing what we were.
The training we needed was to get our dog Freddie to focus on us basically and know how to teach him what was right and wrong.
He has made fantastic progress and it was money well spent

Tricia
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much for your lovely words Tricia. I am so glad to hear Freddie is doing well, he really touched my heart! I can't wait to hear more stories of your progress and adventures with him. Thank you for the lovely photo you sent the other day I hope you will be happy for me to include it on my website?
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Pamela cummins
4 21/05/2017

Tamasine was so helpful
I'm 75 with a 4yr old Romanian rescue huskyX lab who has been with me for two weeks .
The help and advice given was easy for me to do with my dog and although early days her response is good and she will now focus on me more and her recall when out on a long lead has improved a little but still gets easily distracted so more indoor and garden work for me to do .
Tamasine is a lovely lady who must have been frustrated at times with my efforts but never showed it always praising our attempts

Pamela cummins
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you Pamela,
It was so lovely to spend time with you and it is great to hear how things are taking shape. You did such a great job and are so patient yourself. It was a pleasure to assist you.

All the best! T
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Heather
5 30/04/2017

It was great working with and listening to a true professional . Tamasine started working with my dog immediately. The reaction from Daisy I found was quite amazing. Tamasine also shared her expertise to ensure that I could carry on when she had left.
Tamasine followed up after her visit with lots of informative emails with links to help, which have been useful. I've also had an email purely enquiring how Daisy is getting on.
I'm looking forward to meeting her again in a few weeks time to progress further with the training of Daisy.

Heather
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Sue James
5 29/04/2017

I found Tamasine to be very knowledgeable and helpful, especially as I have two particularly difficult young rescue dogs. She arrived on time, was here for three hours,and left me with plenty of ideas to work with. I have since received a very detailed report to enable me to continue training. Definitely to be recommended.

Sue James
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much Sue. Please do keep in touch about how the girls get on. They are very lucky to have found you :-)
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Sarah Beare
5 10/03/2017

Leadchanges are great. Tamasine is so knowledgeable and very patient with both dog and owner. The dog wasn't terribly badly behaved, but she lacked confidence and got confused occasionally, leading her to guard stuff she shouldn't! Am very happy with how the training is going, and the follow-up support by email has been really good too. The program is hard work and needs to be followed consistently but I am really pleased with the results so far. I think the dog and I are both happier now. Many thanks!

Sarah Beare
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much Sarah. I'm so pleased to hear you are both enjoying your new relationship. Please do send a photo of you both soon - she's so cute!
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Geoff Barber and Cora
5 16/02/2017

Yesterday I had my planned visit from Tamasine of lead changes. To be honest I was a bit sceptical as you do hear so much negative about behaviourists generally from people who don't know. So to say I was happy is an understatement!! From the word go I was instilled with a feeling of this is going to be good And it was. I am too busy training tethered to Cora to write too much at the moment but I will add a follow up later however at this stage I am happy to give 5 stars plus and recommend you to the expert service of Tamasine who is not only dog friendly but also Human friendly!!

Geoff Barber and Cora
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much Geoff and Cora. I had a super time and please send me a photo of you both in action when you get a moment!
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Sarah Bowen
5 31/01/2017

Tamasine was brilliant, what a massive difference in a small amount of time. Lovely lady, knows her stuff! I will be recomending her. Class was fun and Steve & I had a giggle too.

Sarah Bowen
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you. I had a lot of fun too. Stay in touch and would love to see photos with Ruby.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Melanie de Grooth
5 21/01/2017

We spent a fabulous introduction day with the amazing Tamasine, learning all about how to prepare for our new puppy. It is also our first dog so we have a lot to learn and want to get it right. If our dog can turn out to be remotely like any one of Tamasine's 3 incredible dogs, we will be so happy. Tamasine is patient and knowledgable and explains everything thoroughly (and has to repeat herself many times). She helps you to understand the reasons why you need to do the things in the way you do them as well as how this impacts on your dog. She also manages to make it fun for us and the dogs! After this intro day, I have learnt so much and can see how vital this training will be for our puppy. Thank you Tamasine.

Melanie de Grooth
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Stella
5 15/12/2016

Tamasine was prompt, interested and informed. She came and spent a considerable amount of time with us on a dark and damp day and 5 days later the improvements are remarkable. Thank you

Stella
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you Stella! And I am so so pleased to hear you have seen good improvements. I'm so happy for Bentley and such credit to all of you for supporting him.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Sue Robinson
5 12/12/2016

Worth every penny as long as you use the information that you are given . I found Tamasine very easy to got a long with and extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend her and I will be calling again if I need further help .

Sue Robinson
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much Sue. I so enjoyed my time with you and I'm very happy that you are going from strength to strength with the training.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Catherine Warren
5 01/11/2016

Tamasine came to help us with our Springer who was starting to show some aggression towards other dogs. Tamasine showed us that our dog was actually lacking confidence and taught us how to help her. The advice was backed up by good notes showing sound research. We were very impressed by the depth of Tamasine's knowledge and the 'after care' we were given. obviously, this work is only as good as the practice you put in, but with what seemed like some simple changes, our Springer quickly became calmer and more confident.We highly recommend Leadchanges to all of our dog- owning friends !

Catherine Warren
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Angie Smith
5 27/10/2016

I found Tamasine really helpful she has a natural way of putting you at ease in what could be stressful for your self and the dog. Her techniques are easy to follow and she gives very clear instructions and explains what and why we are doing certain things. She listens to you and will develop techniques to suit the dogs needs, Her guidance has given a way forward into the potential of reintroducing the dog to the rest of its family. I can highly recommend her.

Angie Smith
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much Angie. It was such a pleasure to meet you and your lovely dogs, I really enjoyed my visit.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Peter
5 23/10/2016

Leadchanges has helped me and my dog so much. Leadchanges expertise and superlative knowledge helped me to help my dog. Informative, educational and fun I recommend to any friends with dogs without hesitation.

Peter
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much Peter. It was such a pleasure to help you and your dogs, they are such fun and I look forward to seeing their progress.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Tor
5 23/10/2016

Tamasine provides fun education with her expert knowledge.
My dog fearful and anxious dog enjoyed the training immediately. Tamasine worked so well with my dog, who is now far more relaxed. Both my dog and myself have benefitted immensely! Tamasine knows just what to do and when.
I would recommend Leadchanges as professional expertise that will make a huge difference to you and your dog in a fun way.
Thanks Tamasine

Tor
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you do much. It has been such fun to watch you both changing and enjoying the work and J is such a pleasure to work with.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Sarah Williamson
5 12/10/2016

I have a golden lab called Mason, got him from a dog trust centre, I thought it would be a big challenge to train him as I didn't know anything about him. So I had just two training sessions with tamasine, Mason is a new dog I feel so relaxed now when out on walks and meeting other dogs, it was fun to learn new things and teach Mason lots of tricks..

Sarah Williamson
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much Sarah. It has been such a pleasure helping you and Mason and you have a fabulous dog to share your friendship with. He is a credit to the work you put in.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Elaine Dony
5 11/10/2016

The work is really focused and makes both you and your dog work really hard. It's a complete rewrite for both of us but is paying off with a dog now less frightened by 'strangers' Well worth doing to see the difference.

Elaine Dony
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you Elaine. It was a pleasure to work with you and it is a credit to you and your dedication and focus too that you have seen the changes.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Margaret Hedgtes
5 26/09/2016

Tamasine is so dedicated to her work and it is amazing to watch her how she achieves the desired results with dogs. She gives very good advice and follows up her visits with e-mails to make sure that everything is going to plan. I really enjoyed working with her and it is now up to me to put in the rest of the hard work to get the required behaviour from my dog. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend her

Margaret Hedgtes
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you Margaret - you are a wonderful and dedicated owner and it has been such a pleasure watching you progress and help your dog. Thank you for your kind words. Hope to see you for a fun pack walk soon!
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Judith Philp
5 26/09/2016

I enjoyed meeting Tamesine but still feel not practising what she made look so simple but will keep persevering my Norfolk terrier is very stubborn reading the reports from other doggy owners I am TRYING TO BE DETERMINED WISH US LUCK

Judith Philp
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Ah thank you so much Judith. Have fun and keep smiling - it's always challenging learning new skills especially with clever dogs! I look forward to meeting you all again soon, I really enjoyed my time with you.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Sue
5 21/07/2016

Outstanding ability to calm and manage even the trickiest dogs. Learnt so much from one training session and ongoing email support has been invaluable.

Sue
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Catherine Warren
5 21/07/2016

Tamasine from Leadchanges was fantastic at training us so we could help our dogs! We were having some problems with aggression which is initially why we called her, but she helped us with so much more. After just 2 sessions we were able to take our dogs on holiday with us and stay in a dog-friendly B&B - where there were other dogs - something we'd never even dreamed of doing before. Tamasine offered a friendly, honest service with excellent after care. She sent us some really useful follow-up notes after each visit to help us stay on track. Don't stress about those little issues (or big issues) with your dog - call Tamasine, it will be the best thing you do!

Catherine Warren
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much Catherine. It is great to see how well the dogs are doing and how committed you are to helping them.
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Karen molloy
5 08/06/2015

Excellent dig training. Really impressed with the help

Karen molloy
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Carin Fick
5 08/06/2015

5 star teacher of animals and humans. Thank you for your inspiration and friendship, Tamasine.

Carin Fick
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification replied:
Thank you so much Carin. I miss you guys!

Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification


Click to rate:

Google Reviews of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification

Google Reviews

Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Karen Hurrell
1 month ago

I cannot express the gratitude and admiration I have for Leadchanges. Tamasine is professional and friendly a difficult combination to get right. My two min pins have very different characters and difficulties which needed guidance for us to get them back on track. Us guiding and them following not the other way round! Would recommend to anyone with problems with their dogs a first class service.

Karen Hurrell
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Charli Vince
1 month ago

100% recommend! The home visit with the training exercise helped my Lola the podenco so much. She struggles with paying attention to me and getting worked up over dogs and small furries on walks. The exercises we were given have already improved her behaviour so much, and it's only been 4 days!
I also received a hugely detailed and helpful personalised program via email with videos, links, and advice as well as a rundown of all our exercises.
Tamasine is friendly, knowledgeable, and worked so well with my often nervous Lola! Can't wait to see more of Lola's improvements as we continue to follow the program. :)

Charli Vince
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Belinda Clabburn
1 month ago

Tamasine worked with us and our frenchie Buddy on Friday, and she was amazing. She is clearly very knowledgeable but is also very skilled at identifying the areas that you need some help with and she also managed to make the session fun for all of us. Buddys response to her was incredible, we have never seen anyone hold his attention for such lengthy periods, and he also clearly enjoyed the stimulation of the training. Tamasine followed up the session with lots of information, including video clips and we are looking forward to starting to embed the training that she has given us but we are also reassured that we can contact Tamasine over the next few weeks if we need to.

Belinda Clabburn
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Denise Wilson
4 months ago

Tamasine came to see me and more importantly my dog on Monday, as soon as she walked in i felt totally at ease, she spent 3 hours with us and was so informative and professional. She explained in detail the issues i had with my dog and talked me through step by step how to work with my dog to achieve positive results. Tamasine also provides follow up information and is there via email or telephone should i need her. I would totally recommend Tamasine and Leadchanges.

Denise Wilson
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Cara Amankwah
1 year ago

Tamasine has been outstanding and instrumental in ensuring that our rehoming of Henry has been a success. He came to us at 18 months having been in 2 homes already. He had received no training, and hadn't been walked so had a fair amount of problem behaviour. After only 3 visits from Tamasine, we have a totally different and lovely dog after only 7 days. We are very much looking forward to many more wonderful days with him.

Cara Amankwah
Review of Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification by Cara Amankwah
1 year ago

Tamasine has been outstanding and instrumental in ensuring that our rehoming of Henry has been a success. He came to us at 18 months having been in 2 homes already. He had received no training, and hadn't been walked so had a fair amount of problem behaviour. After only 3 visits from Tamasine, we have a totally different and lovely dog after only 7 days. We are very much looking forward to many more wonderful days with him.

Cara Amankwah
Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification on Google Maps

Company Location

Kenninghall, UK

Videos from Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification

Video Gallery

Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification Q&A

Company Q&A

What do you love most about your job?

Helping both people and dogs make changes and grow in self esteem and self confidence. Often it is a lack of knowledge that brings out anger and frustration. Empowering people to help their dogs solve their own problems and become part of the decision making process is much more powerful and meaningful and the results are longer lasting. My work is much more about "who we need to be" for our dogs than just a method of training and it has led me to understand human psychology as well as that of the dog. Everyone I meet is a teacher themselves - I learn so much from them when we meet and it helps me to improve on what I do.

What inspired you to start your own business?

I have been working for myself for many years now - first with horses and then dogs. It came about almost by accident when I got asked to help people with their horses and dogs because they liked what I did with my own. I then went about getting qualified and gaining more experience to add to what I already knew. That's when you learn that the more you know, the more you learn what you don't know which leads you to a thirst for more knowledge. I also lived in South Africa at the time and finding anyone to help with animals was hard - so it creates a pioneer attitude. I also had challenges with a horse and dog of my own - and the only way to solve those issues was to learn how to do it myself.

Why should our clients choose you?

I always give personal service and respond with detailed, individually tailored advice. I give ongoing support and understand that although I may have seen a particular issue on a number of occasions, for the owner, they often feel alone with their challenges. I like to work with people in a way that they feel comfortable in their own environments and help them gain confidence in their own comfort zones first. I have been in their shoes and know what it was like to feel lost and without help - I had to learn to help a horse and dog of my own because no one else had answers, so now it is time to pass on that knowledge and support to others. I come at this from personal experience and can relate to what may owners are going through.

Services provided by Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification

Services

Training Dogs for Dog Driving - pulling a two wheeled Dog Sulky

Dogs love to pull. I help motivate working dogs to pull a sulky which helps keep them motivated, fit and focused. It's fun for dogs to do plus it helps where dogs need more exercise and it's especially useful where dogs can't always go off leash. We are also going to be making the dog sulkies for sale in the near future.

Behaviour Modification - Dogs

Helping people with dog behaviour issues - offering support and back up, e-mail contact after service, full written reports, notes, guidance, training programme and video links etc. Working one on one and with others. Dealing with various issues but in particular dog on dog aggression/fear issues, basic in house manners and behaviour, getting dogs off to a good start, helping rescue dogs settle into new homes, jumping, pulling, over excitement, travel sickness, fearfulness, anxiety, confidence building for things like thunder and fireworks. All breeds covered - using positive reinforcement and motivation. Fully Insured. Soon to offer board and train options

Work history from Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification

Work History

Behaviour Practitioner

Leadchanges - Dogs and Horses (previously horsemanship South Africa and NHZA)

From September 2001 to present.

Previously I ran a horsemanship centre in South Africa - helping people relate better with their horses and understand equine psychology and learning theory. Took on problem horses and young horse starting - training in Germany and Australia and teaching in a number of countries including RSA, Namibia, Australia, Germany, UK. Co-hosted confidence building clinics for human confidence building with horses to facilitate this. Organised and hosted clinics around RSA for both myself and visiting instructors. Studied with and still organise clinics for (and ride where possible) with a Philippe Karl licensed instructor and help students understand this method of classical dressage - lessons available for support between visits from the licensed trainer. Rode in XC, Jumping, Dressage and Western. Rescued and rehabilitated horses - owning at one stage 12 and working with various breeds including TB's, QH's, Boerperds, Friesians, Ponies, Percherons, Arabians, Walers and others... Added on dog psychology and rehab while in RSA and on moving to Spain and then back to the UK took up the dog work full time but with equine support to those with a serious passion.

Projects

Charity Fundraiser

Using the dog sulky to raise funds for charities in Spain (two dog rescues Axarquia Animal Rescue) and ASAP (Alhama Street Animal Protection) and Merlin's Kids - where rescue dogs are retrained to help humans as their service dogs. The plan is for the dogs to pull the sulky 1000km along tracks in the UK.

Twitter Feed

  • 72 hires on Bark.com

Find companies like this!

Whatever your requirement, Bark will help you find local companies like Leadchanges Dog Behaviour Modification.
Just post your project to Bark and we'll find the most suitable companies for you.


Are you sure that you want to leave?